## DOMINION PARLIAMENTS SINCE 1867.

No. of Parliaments.	Session.	Date of						
		Opening.			Prorogation.			Dissolution.
1st Parliament	*1st		15, 15, 15,	1867 1869 1870 1871	June May April	22, 12, 14,	1868 1869 1870 1871	July 8, 1872.
2nd Parliament	†1st 2nd			1873 1873	Aug. Nov.	13, 7,	1873 1873	}Jan. 2, 1874.
	1st	March Feb.	4, 10, 8,	1874 1875 1876 1877	April	8, 12, 28,	1874 1875 1876 1877 1878	Aug. 17, 1878.
4th Parliament	1st	Feb. Dec. Feb.	12, 9,	1879 1880 1880 1882	March	7, 21,	1879 1880 1881 1882	May 18, 1882
5th Parliament	2nd $3$ rd	Feb. Jan. "Feb.	17, 29,	1883 1884 1885 1886	April July	19, 20,	1883 1884 1885 1886	Jan. 15, 1887.
	1st	April Feb. Jan.	23, 31,	1887 1888 1889 1890		22, 2,	1887 1888 1889 1890	} Feb. 3, 1891.
7th Parliament	$1st \dots \dots 2nd \dots$	April Feb.		1891 1892	Sept.		1891	

<sup>\*</sup>Adjourned from 21st December, 1867, to 12th March, 1868, to allow the Local Legislatures to meet. †Adjourned 23rd May till 13th August.

<sup>77.</sup> It will be seen that there have been six complete Parliaments Duration since Confederation. The first Parliament was the longest one, and of Parliathe second was the shortest. The average length of each Session has been 88 days, or about 12 weeks. The longest Session was in 1885, viz., 24 weeks 4 days, and the next longest was in 1891, viz., 22 weeks. The shortest Session was in 1873, and only lasted 2 weeks and 1 day.